The three (3) stages of grace for a believer

25 Jul 2021 | By Pst. Gitahi Daniel




Grace is the unconditional love that God gives to humans. It is demonstrated in John 3:16 where God gave His only begotten son to die so that we don't perish but have eternal life. We live by the Grace of God. It is multifaceted meaning that it has many sides. 



Waking up in the morning, being in good health, being alive etc, indicates that God's grace is at work. 

There is a type of grace that applies to everybody, believers and non-believers alike. It is called Common grace. 

Matt 5: 45 illustrates how common grace works. The Godly and the ungodly, the righteous and the unrighteous, the just and unjust are all partakers. 

Matt 5:45 "He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous." We are going to look at the three stages of grace for a believer today. 

Mercy is different from grace. As mentioned, grace is God's unconditional love. Mercy on the other hand is when we deserve punishment but God shows us leniency.


Mercy and grace work together according to God's love. 

We all need grace. We can't live without it. 

Only God gives grace. This means that it can not be earned. 




Eph 2: 8-9 "For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God." 

By grace we have been saved through faith. This grace is a gift from God through Jesus Christ. 

You receive Saving grace after you believe and receive the Word of God through conviction. 




This is the moulding stage. After you have accepted the Saving grace, the work of sanctification begins to purify you from your former habits.

It is here that Condemnation and Conviction start to manifest. Condemnation is a weapon of the devil. It is a harsh pronouncement of judgement and guilt so that you get discouraged and think you are unforgivable. 

Conviction is of the Holy Spirit. It is Jesus assuring you of His love and the fact that you are now a new being free from condemnation. Rom 8:1 "There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit." 

Sanctification is therefore a journey. It does not happen overnight. We need to be purified everyday to turn out like Jesus, just like the first Christians. 

They were in Antioch when they were first called CHRISTIANS. This is because the people at Antioch observed these believers and realised everything they did was copied from Christ. 

The believers were staunch followers of CHRIST.

 As believers, we should be Christ-like. 



Inorder to serve, you must be moulded first. 

Comply with the Holy Spirit and Jesus in your walk. Accept sanctification and that's how you will be entrusted with a gift of service. 

The same God entrusts to believers different roles in the Body of Christ through the same grace. No grace is small. 

The analogy of a human body to illustrate the works in the kingdom of God shows just how important each part is. An eye cannot perform the work of a hand nor can a leg do what the ears do. 


This is the same case with the Body of Christ. 

Church cleaners, Praise and worship leaders, ushers and leaders, to just mention a few, are all important. 

There should be no partiality in our Churches regardless of social status. 

Jesus died for all of us. Grace comes from God and He gives it as He wills. 

Eph 4: 11-12 "And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; for the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ" 



Leave a comment